Securities Regulation in Canada

Capital markets in Canada are principally a matter of provincial and territorial jurisdiction. Each of Canada’s ten provinces and three territories has its own securities regulatory authority, most often referred to as a securities commission, and securities laws, the foundation of which is a statute most often called a securities act.

Securities regulation across Canada is largely harmonized as there is extensive cooperation among the thirteen provincial and territorial securities regulatory authorities (e.g. securities commissions) in preparing and administering securities law. This cooperation takes place through their unanimous participation in an umbrella organization referred to as the Canadian Securities Administrators (CSA).

(See Securities Regulatory Authorities)

Expert legal support is available through our affiliate company Capiche Legal LLP, to send an inquiry - click here.
By browsing this site, you agree to our Cookies Policy